We invite destinations around the world to join the program to assess sustainability performance, and apply for global recognition in case sufficient levels of sustainability is achieved.

GD Certification - Logo
GST Accredited - ACP


Two types of recognition exist:
Full Certification and Pre-certification Awards

Awards recognize excellence in the primary aspects connected to destination’s quality offer to travellers. Awards recognise excellence in one or several of the following aspects:

Destination management

Nature, Animals & Scenery

Environment & Climate

Culture & Tradition

Social Well-being

Business & Hospitality

Destinations can apply for the following Awards

QualityCoast Awards

Especially for seaside and waterfront destinations. Specific attention is given to waterfronts, beach management and bathing water quality.

Green Destinations Awards

For any type of destination

Logo -Quality Coast
GD Award logo - Home/ACP

These programmes use four different Award levels: Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum.

The Awards are presented at our annual Global Green Destinations Days conference and our yearly ITB Berlin event. These events provide our destinations international exposure and publicity opportunities about their sustainability achievements.

Certification through the Green Destinations Standard is the ultimate level of global recognition for destination quality and sustainable destination management.

Destinations that are in full compliance with the Global Sustainable Tourism Council (GSTC) Recognised Green Destinations Standard, will become Green Destinations Certified.

GD Certified logo - Home
GST Accredited - ACP

Find more information in the detailed processes and procedures for achieving GD Certification.


First step is to submit the Awards & Certification Programme Registration Form