We are proud and happy to announce this year’s winners and finalists of the Sustainable Destination Awards!

Unfortunately, this year’s Award ceremony at ITB Berlin was cancelled due to COVID-19 measures. The Award Ceremony is postponed to the Global Green Destination Days online conference, 6-8 October 2020.


These are the winners in 7 Award Categories, scroll down for all finalists and more info.


ITB Earth Award  |  QualityCoast Delta, Netherlands

Best of Communities &  Culture |  Douglas Shire, Australia

Best of Nature |  Azores, Portugal

Best of Africa  |  #Khoadi //Hoas Conservancy, Namibia

Best of Asia-Pacific   North-East Yilan Coast, Taiwan

Best of the Americas  |  Vail, Colorado (USA)

Best of Europe  | Slovenia


Final Call 2020 ITB Top100 Awards 1.4

The Award Winners and Finalists

Top 100 Awards Jury

  • Albert Salman – Green Destinations, the Netherlands, founder and President of the Jury.
  • Rika Jean-François – ITB Berlin, Germany
  • Masaru Takayama – Asian Ecotourism Network (AEN), Thailand
  • Lonneke De Kort – bookdifferent.com, the Netherlands
  • Jonathan B. Tourtellot – Destination Stewardship Center, USA
  • Rod Hillman – Ecotourism Australia, Australia
  • Glenn Jampol – Global Ecotourism Network (GEN), USA
  • Peter Prokosch – Linking Tourism & Conservation (LT&C), Norway
  • Hugo de Jong – QualityCoast Awards, the Netherlands
  • Susan Santos de Cárdenas – Society for Sustainable Tourism & Development
  • Paloma Zapata – Sustainable Travel International (STI), USA
  • Naut Kusters – Travelife for Tour Operators and Travel Agents, the Netherlands
  • Valere TjolleTotem Tourism, UK
  • Charlie Kao – TravelMole’s VISION on Sustainable Tourism, Paris
  • Rob Holmes – GLP Films, Founder & Chief Strategist.

Media Coverage

Best of Africa

  1. ≠Khoadi//Hoas Conservancy, Namibia
  2. Félicité Island, Seychelles
  3. North Island, Seychelles

Best of the Americas

  1. Vail, Colorado
  2. Guyana
  3. Alberta SouthWest

Best of Asia-Pacific

  1. North-East and Yilan Coast
  2. Kamaishi
  3. Club Paradise Palawan

Previous editions

Looking for an impression of previous editions, finalists and winners? Visit the following pages to find out more:

2019 Top 100 Awards

2018 Top 100 Awards