For the third year, the Sustainable Top 100 Destination Awards will be conferred at ITB Berlin. This is a selection of the finest Top 100 destinations based on jury-reviewed sustainability good practice stories submitted by the Top 100 destinations.

This year, the Award ceremony will be introduced with a panel of inspiring speeches within the frame of Tourism2030, a knowledge networking portal for sustainable and responsible tourism.

This unique Award event is dedicated to recognise innovation and good practices in tourism management of destinations and tour operators leading the way towards quality, attractiveness and sustainability in tourism.

Join the presentation of the Awards at ITB Berlin!

Date: 4 March 2020, 16.00-17:45 CET
Place: Messe Berlin – Palais am Funkturm (Award Hall)


Final Call 2020 ITB Top100 Awards 1.4

Award categories

ITB Earth Award: destination showing global leadership in combatting climate change and environmental degradation.

Best of Culture & Communities: global leadership in protecting culture and tradition involving local communities, and avoiding overtourism.

Best of Nature & Ecotourism: destination showing global leadership in protecting wildlife, natural habitats and landscapes.

The best overall Top100-destination in each continent: Best of Africa, Best of the Americas, Best of Asia-Pacific and Best of Europe.

Top 100 Awards Jury

  • Albert Salman – Green Destinations, the Netherlands, founder and President of the Jury.
  • Rika Jean-François – ITB Berlin, Germany
  • Masaru Takayama – Asian Ecotourism Network (AEN), Thailand
  • Lonneke De Kort –, the Netherlands
  • Jonathan B. Tourtellot – Destination Stewardship Center, USA
  • Rod Hillman – Ecotourism Australia, Australia
  • Glenn Jampol – Global Ecotourism Network (GEN), USA
  • Peter Prokosch – Linking Tourism & Conservation (LT&C), Norway
  • Hugo de Jong – QualityCoast Awards, the Netherlands
  • Susan Santos de Cárdenas – Society for Sustainable Tourism & Development
  • Paloma Zapata – Sustainable Travel International (STI), USA
  • Naut Kusters – Travelife for Tour Operators and Travel Agents, the Netherlands
  • Valere TjolleTotem Tourism, UK
  • Charlie Kao – TravelMole’s VISION on Sustainable Tourism, Paris
  • Rob Holmes – GLP Films, Founder & Chief Strategist.

Previous editions

Looking for an impression of previous editions, finalists and winners? Visit the following pages to find out more:

2019 Top 100 Awards

2018 Top 100 Awards