Introduction to Awards & Certification

We invite destinations around the world to join the programme to assess sustainability performance, and apply for global recognition in case sufficient levels of sustainability is achieved.
We offer the only certification programme that is connected to visibility in the travel market

Two types of recognition exist:
Full Certification and Pre-certification Awards


Awards recognize excellence in the primary aspects connected to destination’s quality offer to travellers. Awards recognise excellence in one or several of the following aspects:

Destination management

Nature, Animals & Scenery

Environment & Climate

Culture & Tradition

Social Well-being

Business & Hospitality

Destinations can apply for the following Awards

QualityCoast Awards

A similar procedure, but especially for seaside and waterfront destinations who prefer that title, e.g. QualityCoast Gold Destination. Specific attention is given to waterfronts, beach management and bathing water quality

Green Destinations Awards

For any type of destination

GD Award logo PNG

These programmes use four different Award levels: Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum.


The highest rated Award winners will be eligible for the annual Sustainable Destinations Top 100 Awards. Every year Awards are presented at Global Green Destinations Day.


Certification through the Green Destinations Standard is the ultimate level of global recognition for destination quality and sustainable destination management.

Destinations that are in full compliance with the Global Sustainable Tourism Council (GSTC) Recognised Green Destinations Standard, will become Green Destinations Certified.

GD Certified logo

Interested? First step is to submit the Awards & Certification Programme Registration Form